South Alabama Motorcycle Society
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Major Pickle

2 posters

Go down

Major Pickle Empty Major Pickle

Post by Guest Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:08 pm

I just bought a used Suzuki 650 DR. It is a 2000. When I got it and started riding it I noticed oil near the oil windon(where you can look to see the level of the oil.) I am not very good with technical terms. Anyway, I took it to a local shop hoping it was something simple......turns out it is not. The mechanic said it is the base gasket, which I guess is between the block and whatever else. I have no idea about how to work on these things. So I am at the mercey of this mechanic. He said 500-700 dollars for the repair. I only paid 2000 for the bike. I am freaking out and my wife is going to be pissed when I tell her I need to get it fixed. I am sure the guy who sold it to me knew the leak was there but did not disclose it. So I am screwed either way. I am pleading to someone out there to give me solid advice. Can you point me to a good mechanic that will not screw me, or is this a reasonable rate for this fix. I was so pumped to get this bike and this is a major bummer. Thanks ahead of time. Sad

Back to top Go down

Major Pickle Empty Re: Major Pickle

Post by hayweed Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:27 pm

If they told you it was the BASE gasket, that is where the cylinder meets the top of the block. You should be able to see a trail of oil running down the side of the engine. I am not sure on your bike, but a base gasket is the same on ANY bike. If you are in the mobile area you can bring it by my shop and I will take a look at it for you. If it is in fact the base gasket. That is a fair price for the repair. PM me for the addy.
hayweed
hayweed
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:46 pm