South Alabama Motorcycle Society
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I will have Apehangers !!!! I WILL!!!

4 posters

Go down

I will have Apehangers !!!!  I WILL!!! Empty I will have Apehangers !!!! I WILL!!!

Post by Guest Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:52 pm

So, I am new to the whole "Harley Experience", although I have had tons of other brands (Suzuki, Hyosung, UM, Honda, etc..) The only real thing I dont like about my new Road King, is the handlebars.

I subscribe to the school of thought (and there are TONS of varying opinions on this topic) that the most comfortable position of your arms while riding should be parallel to the road. This theory is that if the arms are up higher than shoulders, your hands will go number quicker, and if your arms are lower than your shoulders, your arms will feel fatiqued quicker. One way limits the flow of blood (i,e. circulation), the other way causes too much blood flow to your hands. ehhh - it makes sense to me and its what I do... Smile

So I measured the King and found out I should put on 12" apehangers to achieve the right ride for me. Now on every other bike, this is a 15 minute job. NOT THIS TIME. Rolling Eyes

Because of all the wiring hidden inside the stock beachbar handlebars, I opted for the color-coded wiring extensions and found a nice simple chrome 12" tall, 1" diameter handlebar. I waited semi-patiently for them to arrive, and dug into the project yesterday. What a mess. First, the handlebar clamps/risers are for 1 1/4" bar, although the area for the switchboxes and grips are set for 1". So either I modify the new bars to fit the risers or find another bar. I coulda swapped out the risers for 1" ones, but that would require even more disassembly of the front end, and I didnt wanna go that route.